Trabzonspor fans attack Fenerbahce players after Turkish Super Lig loss



Players and fans clash on the pitch after the game between Trabzonspor and Fenerbahce
Fans of Trabzonspor stormed the pitch after the full-time whistle

Trabzonspor fans ran on to the field and attacked Fenerbahce players after Sunday’s Super Lig match.

Fenerbahce won 3-2 at Papara Park, Trabzon, and their players were met with violence as they celebrated.

Bright Osayi-Samuel and Michy Batshuayi both tried to intervene as security services entered the field.

“It is never acceptable for violence to take place on football pitches,” Turkey’s Interior Minister Ali Yerlikaya posted on X.

“Above all, sport is gentlemanship.

“An investigation has been initiated immediately to identify the spectators who entered the pitch and to investigate the incidents that took place at the end of the match.”

Tensions started to rise in the 87th minute when objects were thrown on to the field after Batshuayi scored what proved to be the winner for visiting side Fenerbahce.

Nigeria winger Osayi-Samuel, who used to play for Blackpool and Queens Park Rangers, knocked one pitch invader to the ground while former Chelsea forward Batshuayi aimed a kick at another as the players were swarmed by opposition fans.

The Turkish Football Federation (TFF) called the events “unacceptable” and said in a statement that “the necessary criminal sanctions will be imposed on those responsible for these incidents”.

It is the latest in a series of other controversial incidents in the Turkish league during the 2023-24 season.

In December, referee Halil Umut Meler was struck by MKE Ankaragucu president Faruk Koca, leading to a suspension in Super Lig fixtures.

Fenerbahce sit second in the Super Lig, two points behind leaders Galatasaray, and are 30 points clear of Trabzonspor in third.



Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Çakir
  • 12Meunier
  • 3FernándezSubstituted forBardhiat 45′minutes
  • 24DenswilBooked at 70mins
  • 18ElmaliBooked at 76mins
  • 5Özdemir
  • 6Mendy
  • 7Visca
  • 19Pépé
  • 10TrézéguetBooked at 78minsSubstituted forFountasat 90+6′minutes
  • 94DestanBooked at 52minsSubstituted forBozokat 65′minutesBooked at 90mins


  • 2Baniya
  • 8Bardhi
  • 9Bozok
  • 14Fountas
  • 16Sen
  • 23Günes
  • 33Gürpüz
  • 54Tepe
  • 73Bosluk
  • 99Orsic


Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 40Livakovic
  • 21Osayi-SamuelBooked at 82mins
  • 4AzizSubstituted forOosterwoldeat 45′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 6DjikuBooked at 75mins
  • 7Kadioglu
  • 5Yüksek
  • 35Fred
  • 17KahveciSubstituted forMüldürat 90+6′minutes
  • 53SzymanskiSubstituted forBatshuayiat 83′minutes
  • 10Tadic
  • 9DzekoSubstituted forDursunat 83′minutes


  • 8Yandas
  • 16Müldür
  • 20Ünder
  • 23Batshuayi
  • 24Oosterwolde
  • 26Zajc
  • 33Krunic
  • 70Egribayat
  • 88Dursun
  • 91Dursun


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *